Shelter City Maastricht

Shelter City Netherlands is a growing network of Dutch cities that annually offer one or more human rights defenders (HRD) shelter for a period of 3 months. The first Shelter City was The Hague (2012), followed in 2014 by Middelburg. In 2015, Nijmegen, Maastricht, Utrecht and Amsterdam also joined the Shelter City network. Meanwhile Tilburg and Groningen (2016), Zwolle and Haarlem (2017) and Deventer (2018) have become Shelter Cities and the network has also been rolled out internationally.

The Shelter City network is an initiative of Justice and Peace (The Hague). In every Shelter City the municipality, local organizations (such as a university, NGO or civic organization) and Justice and Peace provide the housing and the program for the HRD. Together they organize meetings and workshops that contribute to the awareness of the inhabitants of the Shelter Cities in the field of human rights.

Maastricht receives human rights defenders from the Shelter City program twice a year. The Municipality of Maastricht, Maastricht University (Law Faculty), Amnesty International Maastricht, AIMS and Mondiaal Maastricht work closely together to ensure that the activist is received and supported as effectively as possible.